Spotlight Friday (154)

Hello my lovelies!  As the school year comes to an end (only 5 more days!) I find that my work load has increased incredibly.  And beyond that, I needed a fix of Jamie Fraser, so I started rereading Outlander…but I promise I will get back to YA soon.  Finals for my students is a time when I get a ton of reading done.  Until then, here are new books to keep an eye out for!

51yoqtizt1l-_sy291_bo1204203200_ql40_Exile for Dreamers (Stranje House, #2) by Kathleen Baldwin

Release Date: May 24, 2016

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Summary (from Goodreads): Tess can’t run far enough or fast enough to escape the prophetic dreams that haunt her. Dreams bring nothing but death and grief, and Tess refuses to accept that she may be destined for the same madness that destroyed her mother. Until her disturbing dreams become the only means of saving Lord Ravencross, the man she loves, and her friends at Stranje House from Lady Daneska and her lover, the Ghost-agent of Napoleon, who has escaped from Elba. Can the young ladies of Stranje House prevail once more? Or is England destined to fall into the hands of the power-mad dictator?

What’s To Like: This is the kind of book with strong women in a time when women weren’t considered strong.  I’m drawn to that, since I love history and I know there had to be women out there like this.  They just were seen as quirky or–at worst–insane.  Still, the previous book had some interesting action, some interesting love scenes, and some interesting characters.  I’m…interested.

my-lady-jane_gallery_largeMy Lady Jane by Cythia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.

Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

What’s To Like: Ok, this book had me at “Lady Jane” for sure, since she’s one of the more tragic figures to reach England’s throne, but I’m also won over by the fact that this is supposed to be funny, fantastic, and romantic.  I’m actually really looking forward to this, even if they change the history.  And as a history buff, I don’t say that very often.

the-way-to-game-the-walk-of-shame-jenn-p-nguyenThe Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): Taylor Simmons is screwed.

Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip.

Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic relationship. After all, it’s better to be the girl who tames the wild surfer than just another notch on his surfboard.

What’s To Like: You know what this sorta reminds me of?  Easy A.  I’m not entirely sure why, except maybe the way the girl is lying to the whole school about her reputation.  Otherwise, it doesn’t seem to have a lot in common with the movie.  Anyway, it sounded kind of charming.  Also, I have to meet this surfer dude.

One thought on “Spotlight Friday (154)

  1. I enjoyed your snapshot reviews. It’s interesting that The Way to Game the Walk of Shame reminded you of Easy A. The title reminds me of Elizabeth Banks’ movie Walk of Shame, though I’m sure the two stories are probably quite different. I’m a teacher, too, and I know what you mean by how crazy busy things get toward the end of the school year. When summer session is over at the end of July, I am going to read so many more books and finally catch up on all the TV shows I haven’t had time to watch. Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

