HBP Clearance Sale!

Hi y’all!  This weekend is on of my favorite book weekends of the year: the annual Half-Price Books Clearance Sale!  Everything there is $2 or less, from DVDs and CDs to, obviously, books.  There’s a big old building that is just loaded up with these books and people rifle through them like it’s a giant garage sale.  With two years of teaching behind me, I have acquired quite a few books already, but I’m always looking for more to take to school or leave here at home.  This year, it was an interesting mix of the two.

IMG_0137This is my whole haul from the day.  While it’s not as much as I walked out with two years ago when I was last at the sale, I’m also pretty happy with this.  We’re going to walk through what I got, in case you’re interested.

These are my books bound for school.  (Sorry the second picture is turned…not sure why…)

  • Life As We Know It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
  • Marked by P.C. Cast
  • Sovay by Celia Rees
  • What If…All The Boys Wanted You by Liz Ruckdeschel
  • Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (my old copy is torn to shreds)
  • Sir Thursday by Garth Nix
  • Generation Dead by Daniel Waters
  • The Only Alien on the Planet by Kristen D. Randle
  • Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo

And these books are for my own reading pleasure.  I think they really show how my interests and reading tastes are twisting more toward the historical.

  • Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas
  • Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
  • The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory
  • The Other Tudors by Philippa Jones
  • Portrait of a Killer by Patricia Cornwell
  • Falling for Henry by Beverley Brenna
  • The Search for Richard III by Philippa Langley

**Is it something of a requirement for anyone interested in British history to be named Philippa?  Because there are 4 of them on this list alone.

So clearly, I’m entering a Tudor phase.  Only 3 of those books aren’t related to that time period.  (Even poor Richard III still falls into that category, as he was killed by a Tudor, King Henry VII.  The fact that I’m able to spout this off now when I couldn’t have told you that three months ago should tell you how far gone I am.)

Total cost for all these books: $26.75

Leave a Reply

