Top Ten Tuesday

Hello my lovelies!  It’s another week and I thought this particular Top Ten Tuesday (courtesy of The Broke and the Bookish) sounded like fun.  So here we are!  Though my list this week isn’t “ten” so much as it is “nine.”  I’ll explain in a moment.

toptentuesdayTop Ten (Er…Nine) Favorite Releases So Far of 2016

Look, my tastes in books are changing a little.  Not that I’m getting away from YA because I’m not, but I’m also finding I need a healthy dose of other books as well in the mix, which means that my list of 2016 releases I’ve read is kind of low right now.  I picked 9 books that were released in 2016 that I really enjoyed (4 or 5 stars) and went with those.

And I think to make it more interesting, I’m going to try to rank them by how amazing they were.  9 is low, 1 is highest.  Have fun!  🙂

9. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Always love Matson.  Even if this wasn’t my favorite book by her.

8. Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman

Historical fiction/alternate fiction.  I really enjoyed this, but it seems I’m in a smaller percentage.

7. A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

Interesting and inventive.  Kinda like Shatter Me but with plants.

6. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

Ah, assassins.  We meet again.

5. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Is it possible to leave Sepetys off a list like this?  I didn’t think so.

4. The Forbidden Orchid by Sharon Biggs Waller

My most recent read.  Probably part of why it’s so high up.

3. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Have you noticed that this is the 4th historical fiction out of all of these?

2. Ruined by Amy Tintera

This book is just SO GOOD that one of my best friends texted me at 2:30 in the morning to tell me how much she loved this.  (It was profanity laced, which should also tell you a little about the impact it has on readers.)

1. The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

Bar none, so far my favorite read of the year.  Part fantasy, part almost fairy tale retelling, it was so up my alley that it wasn’t even funny.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

