Top Ten Tuesday

Hey-o!  It’s Tuesday again, which means another Top Ten!  (I’m rather enjoying this, but then again, I do like lists.)  This week on The Broke and the Bookish, the theme is freebie, so I get to be the evil genius and decide what we look at!  MWAHAHAHA!  So here we go!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Favorite Heroines

In no particular order…

1. Annith, Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin, #3) by Robin LaFevers

I have so much love for Annith.  Quiet, obedient, and determined, she’s not quite what you’d picture for an assassin.  (Great, here goes Belle again, talking about assassins.)  But she’s wicked clever with a determination to follow her own dreams.  I adore that.

2. Kate, The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

Much like Annith, Kate is another more reserved character.  I really like these characters because, unlike the brash and bold butt-kickers, these girls are more likely to think before they act.  Kate is sensitive and loving, but she will not let you get in the way of those she loves.  Her strength comes from her heart rather than her muscles.  That sweetness melts even the darkest hearts.

3. Ali, Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Speaking of bold butt-kickers, Ali is the first truly feisty female on my list.  Her story is not a happy one, which is part of why I’m drawn to her.  Her darkness makes her stronger, but she doesn’t lose her softer side or her sense of humor.  I find that mix truly engaging.

4. Cath, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Who does not see themselves in Cath?  The ultimate fangirl and shy writer, Cath is that inner girl that most of us feel at one point or another.  She’s totally cool with spending the weekend on her computer, checking out her fandom and not feeling guilty about it in the morning.  And now I want to reread it.

5. Elisa, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

I have a soft spot for Elisa because of her self-confidence issues and how she overcomes them.  She had my sympathy from the first page, but showed me by the end that she didn’t need anyone’s pity.  And that makes her one of the strongest girls in this list.  She’s the kind of girl I aim to be.

6. Kaylee, My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent

What I like about Kaylee is that she doesn’t sit around and wait for answers to come to her.  She searches out those that can help her.  She’s strong, tough, and clever.  (You can’t read that last book and not appreciate her cleverness.)  While she starts off relying heavily on those around her, by the end she’s standing on her own two feet and rolling with the punches.  I think I’m mixing metaphors.

7. Rose, Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Rose Hathaway will always be my ultimate girl crush.  Tough, brash, abrasive, and perhaps a bit foolhardy, Rose lets no one stand in her way.  She’s singularly driven to reach her goals and she will not back down.  But unlike a lot of these heroines, she learns throughout the series just how much we can rely on friends and family, how much we need them.  And that was nice.

8. Ellie, Angelfire by Courtney Moulton

Whenever I start thinking about Ellie, I almost always want to start crying for her.  Which is kind of weird.  She was a normal girl thrown into a life she didn’t want with a destiny that could destroy her and yet she still managed to see the good in life.  How can you not treasure a heroine like that?

9. Celaena, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Back to assassins!  I’m still working on this series, but Celaena’s impressed me a lot.  She has a ton of self-control and strength.  She sometimes lets life get her down (you know, like most normal people would in her situation), but she does know how to pick herself up and that’s when you have to watch out.  Because she’s perhaps the most vicious heroine on this list.  Oh God, could you imagine her and Rose fighting each other?  Or no, on the same side?  I pity their opponent.

10. Alex, Made You Up by Francisca Zappia

When I was making this list, Alex was the only real curveball that I kept coming back to.  Most of these others are fighters, survivors, thinkers who have been hardened by violence of some kind (except for Cath).  And I do believe Alex is a survivor as well, but in a different way.  She suffers from mental illness and can’t always tell reality from fiction.  And the strength she has to keep living day by day with a positive attitude, dealing with those consequences, just totally knocks me off my feet.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

