The Countdown (The Taking, #3)

41tfnv8j0fl-_sy291_bo1204203200_ql40_First Lines: Being an alien, or a Replaced made entirely from alien DNA…or whatever the heck I was supposed to be was giving me a serious complex.

I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m not usually a fan of alien stories, but I am a fan of Kimberly Derting.  I have read every one of her books (I checked this morning), so there really wasn’t any chance that I was going to turn this down, aliens or not.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*

Kyra knows that she’s not the same now as she was the day aliens took her five years ago.  Now, she knows her DNA has been replaced with alien DNA, something that makes her heal faster, enhances her eyesight, and gives her telekinesis.  But when she gets kidnapped by an unexpected enemy, Kyra starts to wonder if her gifts aren’t actually a curse in disguise.  Because someone out there wants Kyra for her abilities.  If they’re to be believed, Kyra could somehow be helping the impending alien invasion.  Could that be right?  Is it inescapable or can she fight that?  But no matter what, Kyra is desperate to keep safe her love, Tyler, and her friends and family.  Even if that means giving everything she has.

This book was…eh.  In the beginning, I played a lot of “Let’s read a chapter and then clean something.”  I couldn’t stay focused on the book.  There wasn’t anything gripping me right from the beginning.  A contributing factor of that may be that I didn’t remember the previous book as well as I thought I did.  Kind of managed to forget a lot of the major characters, though not the main ones like Kyra, Tyler, and her dad.

But really, the action was never as exciting as it was supposed to be.  We’re talking about a possible apocalyptic alien invasion here and there was virtually no stress about that.  Everyone’s prancing about, doing their own things while the fate of Earth is in the balance.  Um, shouldn’t people be freaking out a little?

I still liked Kyra’s character, but I thought she (and others) could have used a little more depth.  Take for example a scene in which Kyra does something that no one–even herself–thought she could do.  A couple of characters get a little freaked out by it, but Kyra just rolls with it.  It didn’t seem to fit Kyra’s character, especially given her reservations before it all happened.  Suddenly she’s totally cool with doing something she didn’t want to do in the first place?  I don’t think so.

One reviewer on Goodreads mentioned that the ending didn’t make a whole lot of sense and I have to agree.  It’s far too convenient.  Like, if these things were able to happen now, why couldn’t they have been implemented previously to, I don’t know, stop an alien invasion before it happened?  The whole thing with the aliens just got weird.  A bit nonsensical.

But as much as I complain, I don’t want to say it was bad.  It wasn’t.  But I wanted so much more from this than I got.  I was disappointed.

3 thoughts on “The Countdown (The Taking, #3)

  1. I’ve been staring at this book since it arrived in the post – I’m keen to finish of this trilogy. I hope it at least satisfactory given that you mentioned the alien thing goes a bit everywhere. Thanks for sharing your review 🙂 Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

