Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me

Hey-o, it’s another Top Ten Tuesday!  This time around, we’re talking facts about me.  Now, we could do this the boring way where I give you a generalized story-of-my-life thing with facts like “I love Disney movies”, which would be pointless and ridiculously obvious since I named my blog after a Disney princess.  Hello.  But I’m also not going to do like, my favorite vacation destination and all that.  Nope.  So instead, you are in for some quirks.  Not Luna Lovegood-esque quirks, but close.

toptentuesday

Ten Quirky Facts About Me

1. As a kid, I was terrified of the telephone.  And hospitals.

red-phone1A lot of kids are irrationally scared of weird things, right?  Clowns, the dark, the weird noises coming out of the washing machine.  Whatever.  For me, it was telephones and hospitals because nothing good ever came from either one.  Telephones were used to deliver bad news like plans getting cancelled or people dying.  (I can vividly remember the call about my great-grandma dying and how my mom reacted.)  Hospitals were scary places that took my brother and pricked him with needles.  To this day, I still have to talk myself into making a phone call.  Legit, over the holiday weekend, a guy wanted me to call him and I texted him back, “No you call me” because I couldn’t do it.  I stress out.  I do not know how to talk on the phone.  Great thing I’m not a receptionist.

2. I don’t curse often, but when I do, I curse with British slang.

It’s too boring to curse using words everyone knows.  That’s probably actually partly why I do this: the other way is too boring.  So instead of saying “Shit, you want me to do what?” I’d probably say, “Bloody hell, you want me to do what?”  Also a fan of bollocks and arse.  I think part of it I picked up from Ron Weasley and the rest from watching Hugh Grant and Monty Python.

3. I learned how to play Rock-Paper-Scissors-Lizard-Spock in 20 minutes.

db01_lizard_spockTrue story.  One night in college, I watched the video of Sheldon (from The Big Bang Theory) explaining how to play R-P-S-L-S to Leonard over and over and over for 20 minutes until I had the hand gestures down.  As soon as I figured it out, I called home and told my mom, “Guess what I just learned to do!”  Her response: “…We pay thousands of dollars for you to learn that?”  But it’s a great trick.  My students love to watch me do it and then try to play me in it.

4. I keep a to-read spreadsheet in Excel, even though I have a Goodreads account.

I am obsessive about keeping my books organized.  My Goodreads to-read shelf is organized by book release date.  (The first 20 are randomly selected books that I want to make it a priority to read.)  But in order to get them organized on Goodreads, I created an Excel spreadsheet to order them.  I also use it to keep track of book releases and my Spotlight Fridays.  So more or less, the spreadsheet and Goodreads have the exact same information, but I like having both of them.

5. I consider myself a modern-day Luddite.

img_5781-1024x1024For those of you unfamiliar with the Industrial Revolution, a Luddite was someone who was against the new technology coming into the business world (in the form of factory machines, mostly).  Like, I understand that technology is a convenience, but there needs to be a line.  I am not comfortable with all my medical records being online now.  I’m not comfortable with the current dependence on social media (and the stupid things people do to get likes and shares).  Autopilot cars freak me out.  I would rather have the CD than the MP3 downloads, the DVD to the streaming service, the physical book to the ebook.  It’s not that I don’t use the other, but I like the feel of things in my hands.  I didn’t even get a smartphone until just over a year ago, and even then it was a hand-me-down from my mom, who was upgrading because it was actually cheaper to be on a smartphone plan than to keep my flip phone.

6. I constantly need something to do with my hands.

I hesitate to say it’s compulsive because I don’t think it’s nearly that bad, but I have a truly bad habit of picking at my fingers if there isn’t something in my hands.  My nails are stubs and when I can’t pick at those, I move on to the skin around my nails.  (I’ve heard it’s a sign of anxiety, but I’m not 100% convinced it’s that case with me.)  I truly need to pick up knitting or something, though my favorite hand hobby (…that sounds weird) is cross-stitching.  That takes forever.

7. On the last day of school, I play Disney karaoke with my students.

walt-disney-pictures-logoIt’s rare for me to sing in public, but I like to show my students that sometimes people aren’t quite who you thought they were.  So on the last day of school (whenever it is that I get to see my students for the last time), I let them pick Disney songs and I’ll sing snippets of them for them.  Usually it ends up being songs from Tangled, Frozen, The Little Mermaid, or Beauty and the Beast (because they know that’s my favorite).  You have to see their faces when I open my mouth.  It was even funnier when I rapped “Satisfied” from Hamilton.

8. Watch out when you’re around me: I’m analyzing you like you’re a book character.

I don’t get called out on this much, but I tend to analyze the people around me.  I was just explaining to someone that English and psychology have a lot in common because in both, you’re asked to analyze people (or characters) and their motivations.  And that’s kind of what I do.  I don’t do it consciously.  It’s not like I’m sitting in the mall going, “This man is wearing knee high tube socks with sandals; he must be single.”  No.  It’s something I do more when I get to know someone, when I hear them talk.  And maybe I judge people too quickly because of that.  I won’t deny it, though it is something I try to avoid.  I just like trying to know why people act the way they do.

9. When given the choice, I would rather sit on the floor than in a chair.

student-chair-hiThis rule really only applies at home or at homes I know.  Be real, I’m not about to sit on the floor in a store where you have no idea how many people have walked over that patch of floor with dog crap on their shoes.  For whatever reason, I’m more comfortable being able to spread out/lay down on the floor than I am to sit in a chair or couch.  I’m also that person who sits in chair cross-legged.  Seriously.  I don’t even actually consciously think about it.  So all these books I’ve been reading?  Yeah, I read on the floor.  I tend to fidget, so the floor gives me more opportunities to move.

10. One of my favorite dates was one where I got stood up.

Of course I’ve been on good dates before, to movies or the theatre or whatever.  But back in April, I think, I was supposed to be on this date with this guy I hadn’t met yet.  We were set to meet at a coffeehouse I hadn’t been to before (because I don’t like coffee), but it sounded fun.  So I went and got a hot chocolate.  I’d also brought my book because I didn’t know if he’d be on time.  He obviously wasn’t, but it was fun.  I was able to read my book and people watch at my leisure.  And the atmosphere in that place was great.  Turns out he’d gotten a flat tire and was stranded halfway across town in a parking lot, but I had a lot of fun and I knew I’d just walked out of there with a new story.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Facts About Me

  1. Singing to your students reminded me so much of my former college roommate. We used to sing while we folded laundry, and now that she’s an RA in a different dorm, I will carry my laundry across campus just to do that with her. It’s something I hope she carries into her career in education. Do you ever plan solitary dates for yourself? I didn’t go out very much in high school, but I wanted to seem cooler when I got to college, so I would actually dress up with my friends and then drive off alone to see a movie, or go to a bookstore or event alone. I still do it sometimes just because I had so much fun. 🙂

    Feel free to check out my TTT.

    • I’ve always wanted to go on a Me Date out to dinner and a movie or something, but I’m always nervous that the wait staff is going to think I got stood up or something. I need to just get over it, but it just makes me feel weird. Now a shopping solo date, I’m all for! 🙂

Leave a Reply

