The Way to Game the Walk of Shame

the-way-to-game-the-walk-of-shame-jenn-p-nguyenFirst Lines: Before I even opened my eyes, I knew something was wrong.  I wasn’t in my bed like I should be, surrounded by the cream duvet comforter that Mom and I had gotten from Macy’s last month.

First off, the title of this book totally got me.  It rhymes!  For as often as publishers like short 1-2 word titles, I’m a sucker for longer titles that sound kind of playful or thought-provoking.  And this one definitely caught my eye.

Taylor Simmons has a reputation at school as the academically driven Ice Queen.  But that reputation gets blown to pieces when she gets drunk at a party and wakes up in the bed of bad boy Evan McKinley the next morning.  Soon, everyone knows what Taylor did.  Trying to kill the gossip and salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend to be in a relationship with her.  After all, it’s much better to be the one who tames the bad boy than to be just another notch on his surf board.

This was super cute, definitely something great to read at the beach or just to make you feel all warm inside.

Taylor and Evan are incredibly real characters.  Taylor always wants to get the best grades, get into the best college, and get the best job afterward.  She’s a hard-worker and for someone who was a perfectionist in school (ahem, me) it was incredibly easy for me to understand Taylor’s motivations.  Because even if that plan she concocted sounds ridiculous on the book jacket, it kind of makes sense when you see how horribly she’s being treated and how suddenly overnight she’s letting everyone down.

Evan is a surfer and slacker.  His reputation at school is as the resident ladies man and flirt.  But his home life is another story.  I don’t want to really spoil anything, but he has reasons for skipping school.  Generally speaking, Taylor and Evan aren’t exactly who you think they are.

And the character development (which I geek out over) is just amazing.  Like I mentioned, these two aren’t who you expect them to be.  At the beginning, you start labeling them in their stereotypes, but the story progresses and you find out that’s not who they truly are.  What was really neat was seeing how each one influenced and changed the other.  That’s where the magic was.

I adored the plot.  It’s simple and cute.  They pretend to date, hilarity ensues, and a few speed bumps appear to keep things interesting.  I had a lot of fun reading this.

This book is a totally clean romance and it’s just sweet.  Maybe we’d even call it innocent.  I thought this made it adorable because it let the characters get to know each other and wasn’t focused on their passion or whatever other word you want to insert there.  They genuinely liked and understood each other.  This is the love story that I want to live.

If you like cute love stories, this definitely deserves being looked at.

Leave a Reply

