Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books You’d Buy Right Now

What’s up, guys and dolls?  (Apparently, I’m now from the 1920s.)  This Top Ten Tuesday was surprisingly difficult.  It’s not because I don’t buy books, because I do.  It’s not because I buy too many books, because even though that’s kind of true, I don’t.  But most of the time when I’m actually going out to buy a book, it’s one I’ve already read and loved.  That’s how most of my bookshelves work.  I want to know ahead of time it’s something I’m going to want to reread before I buy it.  So, without further ado, here’s my list.

toptentuesdayTen Books I’d Buy Right This Second if Someone Handed Me a Fully Loaded Gift Card

97816196344731. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

First up on my list of “I’m going to crack the spin of this book from rereading it so often” is A Court of Mist and Fury.  This was the kind of book I wanted to reread as soon as I was finished, knowing that I had missed a ton of stuff the first time through.  Eventually, I will buy this.  Once it’s in paperback.

some_girls_bite2. The entire Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill

I got hooked on this series ages ago.  It’s the kind of series that’s silly and hot and action-packed.  Urban-fantasy at its best.  Set in the heart of Chicago is Merit, a grad student turned vampire just after it becomes international news that vampires and other things that go bump in the night are real.  The sass is strong in this series and I love rereading it for the romantic tension between the two leads.  I own books 1, 6, and 9, though I’ve only read through book 5.  And I’ve read book 1 over and over already.  Actually, I may to reread that again now…

reviewoffangirlbyrainbowrowell3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I have mad love for this book.  Cath is less my spirit animal and more my actual spirit.  But I think it would be super cool to own one of those special editions of this book with the ribbon bookmark and maybe even one that has special extras in the story.  I actually don’t know at all what else comes in this special edition, but the red cover looks really cool.

hamilton-revolution-645x7704. Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda (also known as the Hamiltome)

*Swoon* I finally got to touch one of these the other day and thought about buying it for all of two minutes as I flipped through it…before I saw the price was about $45.  Ouch.  But hey, if someone’s giving me a fully-loaded gift card, well, who am I to refuse Lin-Manuel Miranda?  And it actually looks super cool.  The first time I read it might just be for the pictures.

ondublinstreetbysamanthayoung5. The entire On Dublin Street series by Samantha Young

This is another series that has just gripped me entirely.  It’s not YA, but I cannot get enough of it.  It’s all set in Scotland, but it’s one of these series where all the main characters are messed up in one way or another (you know, like everyone is).  Some of them are severely traumatic while others are more like being super self-conscious.  I think just about every book moves me to tears while simultaneously giving me hope.  It’s beautiful stuff.

dareyoutobykatiemcgarry6. Dare You To by Katie McGarry

Another I have read before, but this is, I feel, the best of Katie McGarry.  First of all, I love sports so the inclusion of baseball in this one was perfect.  Ryan is a total sweetheart and Beth is the kind of girl you want to hug and tell her everything’s going to be ok.  I loved these characters, I loved the plot, and I loved their connection.  It would be nice to have a Katie McGarry on my shelf.

160453067. Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

I already have Catching Jordan on my shelf, but it would be nice to add some more.  Now, here is one I haven’t read before.  But Kenneally is nearly always on-point with her stories, so I haven’t had one book yet that felt like a major miss.  I would be willing to gamble that this one was good too.

s-l10008. Sing for Me by Karen Halvorsen Schreck

I haven’t read this one either, but it’s the kind of book that strikes me.  Historical, tense, involves music.  This is Depression-era Chicago, where segregation is big.  In comes Rose, a white girl, who finds herself falling for the black piano man at a local jazz club where she sings.  I’m finding more and more that I’m drawn to stories that have lots of tension and where the characters struggle a lot internally.  So this would be one I would buy in hopes of loving.

20162f032f302f772fharry_potte-9d3669. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling–illustrated

You know how they’re rereleasing the Harry Potter stories that are these big hardbacks with lovely illustrations?  I bought the first one last year, and I believe soon this one should be released if it hasn’t been already.  This also runs a pretty high price tag for a book of about $30 I think, so a fully loaded gift card would be much appreciated for this as well.  I really really want to read this to my kids whenever I have them.

waterfall10. Waterfall by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Ok, I wanted to end this on another story that I hadn’t read before.  Waterfall is the kind of story I’m always immediately drawn to.  Two girls in modern Italy on vacation.  One touches a tomb on an archeological dig and gets transported to 14th century Italy in the midst of a major war.  So, we have time travel, action, and probably a love story if we’re going to be honest here.  This is basically the Italian Outlander.  Like I said, I haven’t read this, but it certainly has that vibe.

Leave a Reply

