Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind (Pick a topic)

So this week’s Top Ten is a freebie of sorts.  We get to go back and pick a topic that we either missed (obviously, I’ve missed a lot) or one that we’d like to go back to.  I decided I’d take a little hit to the ego and do Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet.  Feel free to point me toward the ones I should seriously put on the top of my reading list.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet

1. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

As a middle school teacher, you would think that this would be near the top of my to-read list.  And it is.  I have it in physical copy and ebook and yet I still can’t bring myself to read it.  I love Greek mythology and that’s still not enough enticement, apparently.  Still, I’ll get to it eventually.

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

It’s taken me a while to actually be interested in this book.  I haven’t read anything by Jane Austen, but I found that I kind of liked the Keira Knightley movie.  Plus, with the fact that I am an English teacher, it sometimes surprises people that I haven’t read a lot of classics that everyone loves.

3. Lord John and the Private Matter by Diana Gabaldon

I pounded out the Outlander series last summer.  I devoured it.  But when it comes to Lord John’s series, I haven’t started yet.  Part of me is really afraid that it’ll either A) not be as good as Outlander or B) will be super good and I’ll binge-read those as well.  Still, I truly do want to start reading this.

4. Anything by Phillipa Gregory

As a fan of the Tudor-era of English history (I’m currently reading a book about King Richard III), I’m totally shocked that I have not gotten around to reading anything from her yet.  It’s very surprising.  I even have two of her books on my bookshelf, staring me in the face every day!

5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Love the movie, haven’t gotten around to the book.  You know how it goes.

6. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

I am terrified that this isn’t going to live up to the hype.  I loved the original series (duh), but it’s been so many years since those were new that I can’t bring myself to read this and have it ruin those memories…even if I’ve heard good things about it.  Eventually…

7. The Giver by Lois Lowry

This is another one that I have students asking me about but I haven’t read.  It’s a YA classic, and yet I’ve not gotten around to this.

8. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

This one has fascinated me since I read a sample of it for an English AP test.  It sounds fascinating and its place in literature history is amazing.  Again, one day…

9. A full Sherlock Holmes story by Arthur Conan Doyle

I have a full collection of Sherlock Holmes stories and I have yet to read a single one.  Sigh.

10. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is another one where I’m terrified that the original book is not going to live up to the movie I love: Muppet Treasure Island.  Oh my God, that movie always makes me feel better when I’m sick.  I grew up on that movie and even played the computer game as a kid (that didn’t date me or anything…).  So I fear the original story is not going to be nearly as awesome as Gonzo and Rizzo and the song about Cabin Fever.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind (Pick a topic)

Leave a Reply

