Top Ten Tuesday: The Long Forgotten Books

Hey everyone!  It’s Tuesday, which means we are another day closer to FRIDAY!  (Ok…not really, but it feels more optimistic!)  So here we’ve got a super interesting Top Ten Tuesday with a super long title.  Like one we had a few weeks ago, let me know if there’s anything on this list I need to read ASAP!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday: Ten Books That Have Been on My To-Read Shelf Since Before I Started Blogging

(I started blogging in 2011, so these are going to be old ones.)

1. Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

I love fairytales, so this should be a given.  Yet I have probably 10 of them still sitting on my list.  But this has been there since 2008, so it kind of holds the record.

2. Forever… by Judy Blume

I feel like I really need to read some class Judy Blume because of how she helped pioneer YA lit.  And Forever… was, I think, one of the first books to truly deal with teens getting intimate.  It revolutionized the genre, and I just want to read it for that reason.

3. Kiss Me Kill Me by Lauren Henderson

This book has always caught my attention.  I mean, what are you supposed to do when your boyfriend just keels over dead when you’re kissing him?

4. The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz

Been on my list for so long.  I love stories about music, so I figured I’d give this a shot.  I decided that back in 2009.  Clearly, I’m on it.

5. By the Time You Read This, I’ll Be Dead by Julie Anne Peters

Part of the reason I never got around to reading this was because I never really wanted to check this out from the library.  I didn’t want librarians to start getting concerned about me.  But now that half the library is digital, I suppose that’s not really a concern anymore.

6. Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow

One of my friends from college has been pushing me to read this series, though she hated the way one of the later books ended.  That’s made me a bit leery about starting this series.

7. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Oh my gosh, it’s been so long since I’ve read The Maze Runner that I really don’t remember it.  Which is why I keep putting this off.  Nothing worse that reading a sequel and not remembering the first book. (Just saying, I read The Maze Runner before it was cool.  The Scorch Trials has been on my to-read list since 2009.)

8. Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

Again, another book that keeps cropping up and catching my attention.  But I’ve never gotten around to starting it.

9. Eve by Anna Carey

For some reason, I feel like one of my early Spotlight Fridays was about this book.  And it totally could be, since this book has been on my list since 2010.

10. Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

I’ve had students who have read and loved this series and I still haven’t started it.  Sigh.  I almost don’t like it when my students have read books that I haven’t, even though that doesn’t make any sense at all.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The Long Forgotten Books

Leave a Reply

