Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite/Most Compelling Villains

Hey guys!  When I saw this topic, I knew I had to do it.  How often do we really look at our favorite villains?  This is the perfect topic to kick off October.  I’ll just warn you, though, you’re going to quickly notice a trend with my picks.  (I tend to like epic villains with black souls.)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Favorite/Most Compelling Villains

1. Voldemort from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

A list of villains would not be complete without Lord Voldemort, so I thought I would start with him and just get it over with.  Seriously, this man haunted my nightmares as a kid and I found bravery within myself whenever I wanted to face against him.  He committed horrible atrocities and yet it was still possible to defeat him.  (But don’t even get me started on Dolores Umbridge.)

2. The Wicked Witch of the West from The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

In whatever incarnation she comes in (The Wicked Witch, Elphaba, etc.), she remains one of my all-time favorites.  I mean, she has also haunted my nightmares before (when I was a kid, at least) so she’s totally got the scary thing going on.  But you also have to admire her tenacity a bit.

3. Warner from Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

If you’ve finished the series, it goes without saying why Warner is on this list.  But if you haven’t yet, Warner is one of the most compelling villains on this list.  He’s magnetic.  Even when you hate him, there’s still something about him that draws you in.

4. The King of Adarlan from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

One of the most despicable characters I have ever had the…pleasure?…of reading about.  He has absolutely no qualms about murdering innocents in order to gain more power.  None.  In fact, it’s actually more fun when they’re innocent.  Every single scene he’s in leaves you, as the reader, just twitching to take him down yourself.

5. Rhysand from the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas

Again, if you’ve read both books in this series so far, you know why Rhysand is on this list.  He’s as compelling as Warner is, but in a different way.  Rhysand is ruthless but in a clever way.  He tends to be one step ahead of everyone else and knows the implications of every move.  I really like books that do that because they keep me guessing and actively participating in the reading process.

6. Prince John/Guy of Gisbourne/Sheriff of Nottingham from the Scarlet series by A.C. Gaughen

Anything to do with Robin Hood is a favorite story of mine.  These three characters (I couldn’t choose between them) are heartless, ambitious, and ruthless.  Which makes their downfall all the more satisfying.

7. Anima Industries from the Alice in Zombieland series by Gena Showalter

There really isn’t a set character here so much as it is an organization, and I’m cool with that.  But these guys at Anima have no scruples whatsoever about the ethics of really anything.  It’s fascinating.  And throwing zombies into the mix only makes them that much scarier.

8. Jonathan “Black Jack” Randall from the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

This guy…where do I even start?  He’s a horrible excuse for a human being.  He’s vicious, cold-blooded, and sadistic.  (Seriously, his stuff is not for the faint of heart.  It is gory and disturbing.)  But even when you hate his guts, he still somehow manages to give you moments where you think that maybe, just maybe, he’s really not all that bad after all.

9. The demons from the Angelfire series by Courtney Moulton

I went a little off the beaten path for this one, but I had to get an angel story into the mix.  Angels vs. demons is pretty much the ultimate story of heroes and villains.  These demons are definitely monsters of your nightmares.  They are deadly, fierce, and disturbing.  But the clever ones are the ones you really have to watch out for.

10. The Queen of Hearts from the Splintered series by A.G. Howard/Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

I couldn’t decide which Queen of Hearts was actually my favorite, so I just decided that it was simply the same character and went with it.  She is another character that has transcended time to remain as compelling now as she was 150 years ago.  She’s nonsensical and irrational, which makes her incredibly unpredictable and dangerous.  And that’s always so much fun to read about.

Leave a Reply

