Top Ten Tuesday: Books Read Because of Recommendations

Hey guys!  So this week’s Top Ten is actually kind of a tricky one.  I tend to be a loner when it comes to books because, frankly, I know what I like and someone recommending books will have to convince me that they are truly giving me something I would like.  (I’m quite stubborn about it, really.  I drag my feet if I have the chance.)  So picking books that have been recommended to me?  A bit challenging.  But I rose to it.  Sort of.  These may not actually be my “top ten” books, but they are 10 books that have been recommended to me.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books I’ve Read Based on Recommendations

1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I’ve sold my heart and soul to this series since I first read it last summer on the recommendation of my hairdresser.  (Didn’t see that one coming, did you?)  She’d gotten hooked on the show and was working her way through the first book when she told me I absolutely had to read it.  Being history and a love story, I was in.  …And then I never left.  (I’m currently rereading Dragonfly in Amber, which is why I haven’t posted any new reviews lately.  Sorry, not sorry.)

2. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This recommendation came from readers like you!  (Now I sound like a PBS commercial.)  But truly, it did.  When I read A Thousand Nights and didn’t really like it, a lot of people sent me comments telling me to try this book.  And boy, were you guys right!

3. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Is it a recommendation if Uppercase sent it to me?  I’m going to say yes.  Because hey, now that I owned the book, I had to read it, right?  And it was pretty good.  It definitely helped my faith in these book boxes.

4. And I Darken by Kiersten White

Ok, again, does it count if like, the author keeps recommending it?  I follow Kiersten on Twitter and she kept going on and on and on about this book because she was so excited about it.  And then she started posting all the positive reviews and I had to check it out, you know?

5. The Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen

This was recommended by a teacher at school because we do a Holocaust unit and this was one of her favorites.  So I decided to read it to give my students the chance to read a wider variety of books and I ended up really liking this one.

6. Story Thieves by James Riley

A student of mine loaned me this book about 5 days before the end of the school year, telling me I had to read it.  He was a super sweet kid and I couldn’t disappoint him.  So I read it.  And it was ok.

7. Code Orange by Caroline B. Cooney

When you teach, you frequently have a certain number of books to choose from, basically the ones the school already owns.  We have tons of this book and a few teachers had said it was really good.  So I read it to see if it would be interesting for my students.  And I really liked it.

8. Partials by Dan Wells

My college bestie had been trying for years to get me to read this.  I mean it.  If there’s anyone who should know what I would like, it’s her.  But when it came to trusting her judgment on this one?  I kept putting it off.  And then she proved me wrong when I read it and really enjoyed it.

9. The Light in the Forest by Conrad Richter

Another book recommendation from a teacher at school because we had to teach something.  Not the greatest, but it had its moments.

10. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Honestly, I can’t even remember who recommended this to me except that one of my students read it around the same time I did and another teacher at school had read it shortly before me.  Whoever recommended it, I totally didn’t like it.  You cannot mess with my favorite characters like that.  Nope, nope, nope.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Read Because of Recommendations

  1. And I Darken is definitely one of my top books of 2016. I was so impressed by it, much more than I expected to be. What do you think of Dragonfly in Amber so far? I’m pretty sure the second season of the show is following the second book (which I thought was AMAZING and SO WELL WRITTEN) ((I’m on the 5th book now!!))

    My TTT

    • Like I (think?) I mentioned, I’m REREADING it. Which is crazy, since this book is so big. But yeah, after I saw the show, I wanted to reread the book and here I am! It’s not my favorite book in the series, but it is still young Jamie, so…

Leave a Reply

