Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name a Child After

Hey guys!  It’s Tuesday, so that means a new list!  I thought this one was really interesting because of how drawn I am to character names.  And really, there are always characters that we admire and look up to.  I’d love to name someone (at least a dog or a fish) after these characters, but I like these enough to consider naming a child one of these as well.  I always play fair, so I split it down the middle between boy and girl names.  Enjoy!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Characters I’d Name a Child After

1. Henry – The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

I have been in love with this name–and this character–for years.  When I saw this topic, this was the first name I thought of.  Henry is a classic name, and this character is the silent-but-strong type.  I love it.

2. Tobias – Divergent by Veronica Roth

I’m going to bet this name shows up on a lot of lists this week.  It’s strong and comes paired with a very sexy namesake.

3. Rhys – A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This is probably the weirdest name of the bunch, but I’ve always been drawn to the name Rhys/Reese/Reece.  Rhys’s character is very similar to that of Henry above, so it’s no wonder I fell in love with him too.

4. Owen – Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

One of my earliest book crushes.  Owen stole my heart and helped me fall in love with this name.

5. Jem – Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I think I prefer this with the given name of Jeremiah (which is Jem’s given name, right?  It’s been a while since I’ve read this), but the nickname of Jem is cute.

6. Lily – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

As much as I want to name someone after Hermione, I can’t do it.  It’s too odd of a name for me.  So I’m going with the more classic Lily after Harry’s mother.  She’s a great role model as well, smart and kind.

7. Pippa – A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

I remember being in 7th grade and wanting to name a girl Pippa because of this series.  Not that I don’t also like the name Gemma–because I do–but Pippa was my first love when it came to names.

8. Aurora “Rory” – The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

I love how strong the name Rory sounds, but with the beauty of Aurora to be its base.  And this character is so strong and funny.  (While I know this is all fun and games here, this is one I’m legitimately considering for a child.)

9. Juliette – Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I love the name Juliet (thank you Shakespeare!), but Mafi’s character takes it to a new level…and not just with the French ending.  Juliette is strength and beauty.  (Are you noticing a trend yet with my strong-but-pretty names that have a classic edge to them?)

10. Liesel – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

100%, this is going to be a middle name for a girl that I have.  Whether it’s Liesel from this, perhaps my favorite book, or from The Sound of Music, in which I starred as Liesl in high school, this name means the world to me.  And it harkens back to my family’s German roots.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name a Child After

Leave a Reply

