Top Ten Tuesday: Scary Books on My TBR Pile

Hey guys!  So this week’s Top Ten is all about Halloween and while the main topic is actually scary books to get you in the mood for Halloween, I feel like I did that a few weeks back with my ghost books.  Instead, I thought I’d look at books on my TBR pile and check out some of the scary dudes there!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Scary Books on my TBR Pile

1. The Shining by Stephen King

What would a list of scary books be without Stephen King?  I’ve been pressured to read this since my family went to the Stanley Hotel in Colorado (the place that inspired this book), but I keep putting it off.  Stephen King can sometimes scare the pants off of me and I’m rarely in the mood for that.

2. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Shirley Jackson is a champ at twisting stories beneath you until you go from having a little inkling of something being wrong to suddenly being embroiled in trouble.  I feel like this book could do that too.

3. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Another classic that I’ve always meant to get around to reading but haven’t yet.  But I have recently discovered that I like Stevenson’s writing style, so maybe this’ll happen sooner rather than later.

4. Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

Now, I don’t know a ton about this book, but based on the description it sounds like possessions/poltergeists.  Which are creepy.

5. Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts

This book is about how after an earthquake people wake up with all this rage inside of them–and many of them can’t handle it.  Reminds me of the free-for-all that The Purge is.

6. Ripper by Stefan Petrucha

Oh, Jack the Ripper.  His crimes are gruesome and violent.  And for some reason I still find myself drawn to him over and over.  What does this say about me?

7. Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Think an updated, modern version of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None.  Bunch of teens go to an island for a party and then they start getting picked off one by one.

8. Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

Serial killer story with a little bit of a paranormal twist.  To me, serial killers are some of the scariest books I can read.

9. Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick

Fitzpatrick did a nice job making Black Ice a creepy, suspenseful read, so I have high hopes about this one about a girl in the witness protection program.  I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

10. Ghostland: An American History in Haunted Places by Colin Dickey

Probably this book will creep me out and fascinate me the most.  It’s nonfiction (as much as a book about ghosts can be nonfiction) as he travels the country and visits haunted hotels, houses, prisons, etc. and looks at their dark histories.  Because you know what’s creepier than a ghost story?  Knowing the history behind it all and the very horrible–and real–atrocities some people lived and died through.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Scary Books on My TBR Pile

  1. I don’t blame you for putting off reading The Shining, I actually found it more heart racing than the movie version but it was also strangely more enjoyable than the movie- IMO of course 😉

Leave a Reply

