The Summer I Became A Nerd

61n3c5uvtil-_sy344_bo1204203200_First Lines: When I was in junior high, the school I went to held a Halloween festival every year in the gym.

Bear with me.  It’s NaNo and I promise I’m still reading (I’m almost reading more now than I was before–what?) but the posting of reviews is a lot harder when you’re trying to write 1,667 words a day.  So reviews are coming, but they may be a bit shorter than usual.

From Goodreads: On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

This was cute. I’m not going to say it’s groundbreaking or even totally realistic, but it was cute. I like stories about nerds (thanks to my love of the Big Bang Theory), so I was hoping this would be somewhere along the same vein, and it was.

Even though Maddie is constantly hiding who she is and her indecision gets annoying at times, I can’t say it’s not realistic. I mean, I remember hiding parts of myself from my friends in high school for fear of what they would think. Don’t most of us, though? I feel like that’s the definition of high school. But it was really funny to see her bloom in the geeky spotlight.

Logan is a total sweetheart, and scenes with him and Maddie were alternately cute and laugh out loud funny. I was reading this while in the company of other people, and I kept giggling. It truly was that funny.

Now, I can’t say I’m a nerd to this level. I don’t read comics or LARP on the weekends, but something about those scenes felt fake, and I don’t really know why since I have no experience with that. Certainly some of the scenes were strange because of the LARPing or the plot, but some were more forced than others.

Overall, though, I rather enjoyed this. It, like the candy we’re still eating from Halloween, may not have had a lot of substance to it but it sure was sweet.

Leave a Reply

