NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update!

I have a confession to make, you guys.

I fell off the wagon.

I know, I know.  I’m disappointed too.  I was making all kind of progress and then I just stopped, but I have my reasons.

Reason #1: The timing sucks.

November is just a really really bad time for me to try to write a novel.  Between Christmas shopping, Thanksgiving get-togethers, and my school schedule which becomes more demanding as the end of the semester draws nearer, I’m running out of time in a day to write.  My 7th graders are turning in an essay at the end of this week.  My 8th graders are doing debates.  I have to lesson plan a whole mystery novel unit that I’ve never done before, which takes a ton of creativity and time.  So it’s not entirely feasible that I can give up an hour and a half at night to write when my job demands these things from me.  (Teachers, in case you didn’t know, don’t clock out at the end of the school day.  We bring work home with us nearly every single night.)

Reason #2: I just got sick.

This is the part that really sucks.  I believe I  have an ear infection (which I am going to have a professional verify later today), but I’ve had them all my life and I’ve started to realize what they feel like.  Pretty confident that’s what this is.  But it just kind of makes you feel blah, you know?  I just want to curl up under a blanket and read/watch Netflix.

Reason #3: My story’s a little political and I need a break.

When I started this story, I didn’t intend for it to be political.  (In case you’ve forgotten, it’s about two warring Native American tribes.)  But with the election coverage being nonstop for the first 8-9 days of NaNo, it managed to work its way into the fabric of my story.  And now, after the cards have fallen the way they have, I just need to take a step back from everything political, and that includes my story.  It’s wearing me out.  I feel drained every time I sit down to write it.  It’s just too complicated of a world right now for me to continue working on this story.

Will I eventually go back to this story?  I plan on it.  Maybe over Christmas break when I have more free time on my hands.  But for now, it’s just not working.

So a heartfelt kudos to all of you who are continuing on with your stories and making great progress!  I applaud your devotion to your writing and wish you the best as you continue!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update!

  1. Hi Holly, it sounds like you are making the “write” decision for you:) The great thing is that you still have the words that you’ve already written and that puts you ahead of where you were. So win-win! Hope you feel better – emotionally and physically. I am not even American, but watching the fall out from this election has even been draining for me. Take care!

Leave a Reply

