Top Ten Tuesday: A Top Ten I Missed

Hey guys!  I want to get back in the swing of doing Top Ten Tuesdays, especially now that I’ve given up on my NaNo for now.  (Holidays…grading…ear infection/antibiotics…it wasn’t going to happen.)  So I thought I’d revisit one that I missed a couple of weeks ago, especially given that this week was a Thanksgiving freebie.  So here we go!  These are books that I’ve recently added to my to-read list.

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books I’ve Recently Added to My TBR Pile

1. The Making of Outlander: The Official Guide to Seasons 1 & 2 by Tara Bennett

You guys, I love this show.  Caitrona Balfe and Sam Heughan just rock it so far out of the park that I could easily watch this show 10, 20 times over.  (*cough* I may know this from experience *cough*)  So when I saw this book at the library, I grabbed it.  It has pictures and behind the scenes stuff, which I love.  Now I just need to read it!

2. The Wild Swans (Timeless Fairy Tales, #2) by K.M. Shea

I recently read my first book by K.M. Shea, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast that was phenomenal.  So I’m really excited to see what she does in this fairy tale retelling.

3. Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I’m always nervous when it comes to Neal Shusterman.  The Stephen King of YA, I truly have read his books before and been haunted by them for days afterward.  But I’m also really drawn to stories that depict Death as a person, so this is a book I’m willing to take a chance on.

4. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I’ve seen this book winning awards right and left lately and I’m really interested to see what it offers.  Sure, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Everything, Everything, but this could be good.

5. What Light by Jay Asher

A Christmasy book from Jay Asher?  Now this I have to see.  Luckily, it’s already in my hands!

6. A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby

I don’t know why I do this to myself, but this book is set during the time of Jack the Ripper, and the main girl sees the ghosts of the Ripper’s victims.  Clearly, I read way too much Agatha Christie/V.C. Andrews as a kid and I am now tainted.

7. Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

I love pirate stories and, even though this book isn’t out yet, I’m really excited to read it.  A strong female character who gets herself caught–on purpose–by rival pirates?  Sounds like fun!

8. Garden of Blood and Dust by K.K. Perez

A YA telling of Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer in history who may or may not have bathed in the blood of her victims.  Again, I feel twisted for wanting to read this.

9. When by Victoria Laurie

This is a story of a girl who can see numbers on the foreheads of everyone, giving the date of their death.  Her alcoholic (I think) mother has her use this skill for money, but that turns out to be a bad thing when she correctly predicts the disappearance of a young boy and becomes a prime suspect in the investigation.  Yeah, I’m into it.

10. The Innkeeper’s Daughter by Cindy Trumbore

This is supposed to be set in 6th century Ireland and based on some old Irish legend, so I’m already there.  I didn’t even need to know the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

