Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under the Tree

Hey guys!  I know I’ve been quiet on here lately.  Between school (we still have finals this week!), the holidays, and my current obsession with reading historical nonfiction (the American Revolution, y’all), reading YA has been a little sparse lately.  But I’ll figure it all out, no worries.  In the meantime, I thought I’d give you a little something.  So here’s my top ten!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under the Tree

1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I’m starting here because this was actually on my Christmas list this year.  I adored this book when I read it and now I need a copy of it for my bookshelves so I can read it again and again and again and again.

2. Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Who didn’t fall in love with Hamilton and Lin-Manuel Miranda this year?  Jeez.  But I would so adore this book.  One of my friends who is a librarian flipped through this at work on day and would not stop telling me how awesome it was.  #jealous

3. Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Shusterman is, and I say this in the nicest way, a weirdo.  But seeing as I am also a weirdo with the same kind of interest for books he writes, we’re good.  This book, about a girl who becomes the Grim Reaper, is just perfectly up my alley.

4. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

There’s so much hype over this book that it could be really really awesome (which is what everyone’s saying) or it could just be hype (which is my fear talking).  While I wasn’t really a fan of Everything, Everything, I think this book could be better than that and more to my expectations.  Now I’m not making a lick of sense.

5. Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

I was not kidding when I said I’m on a historical bend right now.  I have Washington’s biography by Chernow sitting on my shelf right this second, though I haven’t had time to read it yet.  Adding Hamilton’s would just be icing.  #WaitForIt

6. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

This book came out years ago.  It is a collection of essays from a college student who died right around her graduation date, so this was all published posthumously.  But for some reason, it’s just always caught my attention and I just haven’t made time to get it anywhere.

7. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I think this was in the Uppercase Box this month?  I stopped my subscription for the time being because of the holidays, so I didn’t get this.  Which really kind of sucks because this is one that’s been on my to-read list for a while!  #PaintingTheRosesRed

8. Just about anything from Philippa Gregory

While I haven’t actually read anything by Gregory yet, I’m dying to.  Tudor England is another fascination of mine because of all the power playing going on, the backstabbing and conniving.  Fiction or nonfiction, I want to read it.  #OffWithHerHead

9. East by Edith Pattou

A friend of mine recommended this to me oh, 6 years ago?  She said it was fantastic, basically a fairy tale but without feeling like the ones we know really well.  And I have this at the top of my to-read list, but again, haven’t made time for it.  So maybe if Santa brings it…  #Snow

10. Highland Knits by Interweave Editors

I don’t know if I’ve told you guys this lately or not, but I’ve taken up knitting.  I learned in October and I’ve been making scarves like a fiend ever since.  This book has been fabulous, giving patterns for things that Claire Randall Fraser wears in the Outlander TV show.  I’m legit in love.  However, I currently only have it as a library book and that’s heartbreaking.  #HeySanta

Leave a Reply

