Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2016

Hey guys!  Once again, Tuesday has rolled around and I am especially stoked to be looking back on some of my favorite reads of this year!  (You know, because  I need to know what to reread in 2017, of course!)  While I have put them in order from 10-1, all of these books I give a solid endorsement, so if you need something to read to kick off 2017…try one of these if you haven’t already read them!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Best Reads of 2016

10. The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1) by Renee Ahdieh

When I first looked back at my list of 2016 reads, I couldn’t believe this was actually read during 2016.  It feels like it’s been a lot longer ago than that, but it was February. Anyway, this is a lovely take on 1001 Nights, with a romantic, supernatural, and political twist on it all.  I fell hard for this story.

9. Partials (Partials, #1) by Dan Wells

A friend of mine had been recommending this book for literally years and I finally gave it a chance this year.  And you know what?  I loved it.  A dystopian story of what life is like when half-robot, half-human Partials battle against what’s left of the human race.  It’s fascinating and delightful in the most unexpected ways.

8. Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

I’m thinking right now that this is my favorite Throne of Glass story because it’s the one where everything takes a step back and where Celaena ventures out of her comfort zones.  Of all of the books, this is the one I remember the most vividly, and that’s saying something.  But I love training scenes where strong women prove themselves.  (I think that’s Mulan‘s doing.)

7. All We Have Left by Wendy Mills

This beautiful book is one that I think we all need right now.  It’s two stories in one: the story of a Muslim girl and a boy trapped in the World Trade Center as it’s coming down on 9/11 and the story 15 years later of a girl who lost her brother in 9/11 and the Muslim boy she can’t seem to stay away from.  There’s so much here about how we’re all people, no matter our religion or race.  It’s heartbreaking and exactly what we all need to remember right now.

6. The Great Hunt (Eurona Duology, #1) by Wendy Higgins

I read this as an ARC ages ago and I adored it.  In a far off kingdom, a monster is terrorizing the land.  All able-bodied warriors report to the king at his request because, whoever kills the beast will earn his eldest daughter’s hand in marriage.  Sure, it feels patronizing and antiquated, but it plays out way better than you think.  Every character here has their strengths and they come out wonderfully in the story.

5. Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

This was probably the one mystery/suspense book I read this year, but boy was it worth it.  After being missing for a few days and losing her memory, Sam returns home to discover that her best friend is missing/presumed dead at the same time.  Now, she’s trying to piece together what’s happened while also realizing that she doesn’t recognize the girl she used to be at all.  Totally suspenseful and creepy, it also manages to be heartfelt and even a little romantic.

4. Lady Thief (Scarlet, #2) by A.C. Gaughen

No joke, just looking at the title of this book has made me go all gooey inside.  I freaking love Robin Hood stories, but this one takes the cake.  “Will Scarlet” is actually a girl named Scarlet who helps Robin protect his people.  But this particular book just goes so far above and beyond what I had ever expected.  Sure, stories like this usually get dangerous, but I remember reading this and just being in shock as to the severity of certain events and consequences.  This book takes chances and they so paid off.  …I need to buy this series…

3. Ruined by Amy Tinterra

I read this as an ARC ages ago as well, and this was one that my friend (who recommended Partials to me) texted me well after midnight in all caps screaming about it because it was so good.  We have a female assassin out to get revenge on a rival king for the death of her parents and then she goes and becomes utterly fascinated by the king’s son and heir.  It’s beautiful, there’s fighting, and there are secrets galore.  Love love love it.

2. Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

I think I’ve basically made it my job to gush over this book.  I adore it.  A debut novel, I’m excited to see what else this author comes out with.  Ivy’s wealthy family loses everything and moves to the “wrong side of the tracks,” where Ivy still pretends that she’s as wealthy as she was before.  But her neighbor sees through all of this, much to Ivy’s chagrin.  Anyway, I know it sounds cliche and all of that, but it’s not.  It’s a wonderful story about social class and people defying your expectations.  It’s just darling.

1. A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

And here we come to the crux of it, the Goodreads Choice Awards winner that I knew was going to sweep its category.  I want to do a quick disclaimer that even though this book is marketed as YA, it uh…it’s definitely on the more mature end of that.  But this breathtaking, heart-stopping book was one that I immediately reread as soon as I finished it the first time.  So many twists and surprises that I just swoon and melt over.  And gasp and cry over, too.  It’s beautiful, it’s imaginative, it’s sweet and tough and well deserves its title of the best book of 2016.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Reads of 2016

  1. I also thought that Heir of Fire was the best of the Throne of Glass series. It was so amazing to see Caleana (or rather Aelin) grow and thrive in the ‘safety’ or being away from the palace. Also because Rowan :D.
    ACOTAR and co are definitely in my TBR list next year. Need to catch up with that.
    Belle xxx

  2. Lots of love for A Court of Mist and Fury on the book blogs (and it’s well deserved). Sarah J Maas really is the ruling Queen of YA Fantasy.

Leave a Reply

