A Life Update: March Comes In Like a Lion…

Hey everyone!  I know I haven’t been posting much lately (story of my life, right?), but I’m about to enlighten you on what I’ve been doing:

Show Choir

tumblr_inline_n8wx2myizn1szcktj

(Yes, show choir usually does look an awful lot like this, if you’ve never seen it before.)

As I’ve posted about before, I volunteered to be an assistant director for my school’s show choir.  I did it for 5 years when I was in school and it’s definitely something I know a lot about–I know how the shows work, what judges look for, staging, etc.  I had no hesitations about volunteering for this.

Aaaaand then the competitions started.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the competitions in themselves.  I love seeing other groups, watching my own group kill it on stage, and those excited butterflies you get just before a performance (even if I’m not on stage).  What I didn’t love was the stress of making sure everything was ready, making sure everything was running smoothly and on time, making sure every person was where they needed to be, making sure the kids were all doing what they should be doing…  The list goes on.  It was also a huge time commitment as well, where yesterday’s competition had me getting up at 4:20 AM to perform at 9:10 and not being able to leave until after 3:00 (the school scheduled awards 4 hours after the last middle school performance, which was really just a ploy to get people to stay and pay for food).

Anyway, my introverted (INFJ) self has sort of been spazzing out.  I’m a perfectionist anyway, so show choir just kept feeding into that anxiety.  I literally had dreams the week before a show about everything that could go wrong.  It’s been hard sometimes to not feel like a lost fish in a sea of hundreds upon hundreds of people at these things.

But my INFJ side is also eating up the fact that I’ve gotten super close to a lot of the kids.  I’ve picked out kids who are spectacular performers but don’t exactly believe in themselves.  I’ve made an impact on kids I don’t even have in class who now smile at me in the halls when they pass me.  I love that I’ve been able to see a number of these kids in a different light.

I’ve had competitions for the last five weekends straight.  We just finished out last competition yesterday, so now it’s just me doing what I want on weekends for a time (re: reading!)

Grading

8w6kf

The last few weeks of the grading period arrived in the middle of all this show choir, forcing upon me a couple of the things I hate the most as a teacher:

  1. Late work that is literally 2 months old.  I’m not taking that.  I’m not grading it.  Stop wasting my time.  You had your chance two months ago.  That’s no longer an “oops, I forgot” thing.
  2. “Can I get extra credit?”  Like, no.  If you’d done your work on time and well in the first place, you wouldn’t need to be asking about extra credit two days before the end of the quarter.  This quarter has been really bad as 8th graders suddenly realized that high school starts for them in a few months and all those resolutions they made (“I’ll try harder/study more/get all my homework in on time”) aren’t going to happen if they don’t start applying themselves now.

I’ve just had so much grading and so little time to work on it.  It’s hard to want to read anything for fun after you’ve just spent all evening reading essays.

Seeing Someone Sweet…

original-7

A couple of months ago I started dating a guy who is, in many ways, my exact opposite.  Where I’m more creative and imaginative, he’s more logical.  Where I’m a planner and have some anxiety if I do not have a plan, he wings everything.  Where I have more emotional reactions to things, he’s more…unemotional is definitely not the right word, but less emotionally invested than I am.  (We’re talking crying during movies vs. not crying.  nbd.)

But through all of those differences, we still have similarities.  If I’m feeling introverted after a long day of show choir, he’s fine with a night in with a Redbox movie.  If I make a comment about something I like, jokingly or otherwise, he tries to get it for me.  (Even if it’s just milk and Swiss Miss.)  And I try to return the favor where I can.  You guys, he is as sweet as the Girl Scout cookies he buys in bulk.  (He also usually reads these posts, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to hear about that one later…)

If you’ve been following my posts for the last few years, you know that some of my past relationships have been rocky to say the least.  But this one feels good.  I’m having fun.  I enjoy the time I get to spend with him and I always look forward to seeing him again.

(He’s going with me to see the new Beauty and the Beast movie this coming weekend, so that’ll be a new review that I will be hopefully getting out to you guys soon!)

Peace!

Holly

Leave a Reply

