Still Star-Crossed–Coming to TV Tonight!!

Hey guys, so if you’ve been following me long, you know that I’m a pretty big English nerd (you may have picked up on that simply because I have a blog entirely devoted to books, but just in case you didn’t notice).  And one thing I completely geek out over is Shakespeare.

So when I heard that this beauty, Still Star-Crossed by Melinda Taub, was going to be turned into a TV show by Shonda Rhimes, well, this was a no-brainer.  I’ve read the book twice and I’m super excited to see how this show adapts it.

51qnlnlyy3l-_sx328_bo1204203200_

“Two households, both alike in dignity, in fair Verona, where we lay our scene.”

If you haven’t heard about this show or the book, it’s basically life in Verona after Romeo and Juliet kill themselves.  Remember, the Prince made the Montagues and the Capulets swear that the fighting would be over now that it had claimed so many lives.

But, of course, it doesn’t.  At least in this adaptation.  So the prince needs to fight dirty, and he decides that there needs to be another cross-family marriage.  Needless to say, no one is happy about that, least of all the couple to be wed.

The book is gorgeous, if you haven’t read it.  I love the characters and the way the story is written.  I’m always in the mood to pick this back up because there are some really interesting twists in it that I didn’t see coming the first time and really change your feelings toward the characters from the original play.  In interesting ways, let’s just say.

Anyway, the show airs TONIGHT on ABC at 10 PM Eastern time and I’m totally pumped.  I will probably be back on here tomorrow talking about my reactions to the first episode.  I’m just going to drop the extended trailer down here.  It gives you a better idea of what the show is than the 30 second commercials.  Enjoy!  Drop a comment to share your thoughts!

 

2 thoughts on “Still Star-Crossed–Coming to TV Tonight!!

Leave a Reply

