Summer Days and Summer Nights

91q8iuk2b3clHey guys!  It’s hard to do first lines for an anthology, so I’ll just get right to it.  This anthology was edited by Stephanie Perkins and I’ll break down each story in its own right without (hopefully) too many spoilers.  Whether you want to read the whole thing or just part of it (or if you’ve already read it yourself and want to see what I thought of your favorite short stories), this is your guide!

Head, Scales, Tongue, Tale by Leigh Bardugo

This one was weird and I thought an odd choice to start off an anthology of love stories.  It’s definitely fantasy, but like…urban fantasy?  Anyway, I thought it was odd.  3/5

The End of Love by Nina LaCour

The first of a number of LGBT stories.  This was a little dark content-wise (which I kind of expected from LaCour, who has made a career writing about dark topics like suicide), but it was cute.  Kinda hopeful, kinda cynical.  It worked.  4/5

Last Stand at the Cinegore by Libba Bray

Freaking creepiest story in the whole book.  It didn’t help that I was reading it at midnight right before I planned on going to bed.  Leave it to Libba.  But the story itself was hilarious and incredibly well-written.  Just freaky.  5/5

Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block

I truly think I just don’t like Block’s writing style.  She didn’t give any of the characters names, just letters like L, M, and J.  And, in terms of content (not scare-factor), this was the darkest of all of the stories.  It wasn’t even really a love story.  2/5

In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins

This was what I expected out of Perkins.  It was cute, with a narrator who is a little bit lost, a little bit off balance because of things happening around her.  I could get behind both of the characters and it was all very sweet.  And it was funny.  I really enjoyed it.  5/5

Souvenirs by Tim Federle

Another LGBT story, set in a theme park.  While I don’t normally read LGBT stories (nothing against them, they just aren’t what I normally search out when I pick books), this was really good.  Federle makes some hilarious observations about people at theme parks and the difference between introverts and extroverts.  5/5

Inertia by Veronica Roth

Probably the only story in this book that had a little bit of a sci-fi bend to it, which I expected from Roth.  It was an interesting story, but I still felt like it was missing something.  4/5

Love is the Last Resort by Jon Skovron

A slightly bizarrely-told love story that follows multiple couples working at/visiting a resort.  The story telling was funny, but it felt fake/forced at the same time.  3/5

Good Luck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert

This is one that starts off depressed and lightens up a little as the story goes on.  I wasn’t overly thrilled with it because of that mood and how it never really felt like a love story either.  3/5

Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare

Oh, Clare.  Leave it to her to write a creepy story.  But I’ll tell you what, these creepy supernatural love stories were some of the most entertaining.  Clare’s inventive to say the least.  5/5

A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith

This was utterly adorable.  It starts off a little like a comedy of errors, but you quickly learn why things don’t go the way the main character, Annie, thinks it should.  It was really really cute.  5/5

The Map of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman

Like Groundhog Day, this couple who’s never met get stuck reliving August 4th over and over again.  It was cute, but it didn’t seem to focus on the romance and it seemed a bit odd.  Like it focused on things that I wouldn’t have focused on.  3/5

Overall, I thought this was a good anthology.  There will always be stories you don’t like because of an author’s writing style or what have you, but there are others that are totally worth it.

One thought on “Summer Days and Summer Nights

  1. I have heard of this anthology but didn’t know much about it. It was great to see it broken down this way! Some of the stories sound really interesting!

Leave a Reply

