Seeker (Riders, #2)

First Lines: You don’t know what anger is until you’ve spent time with a mare in a truly foul mood.

You know what?  I don’t really know what to say up here today.  Normally I’d say something about Rossi or the series, but I’ve got nothing at the moment.  So let’s just get on with the review, shall we?

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead* This is a duology, so this is it.

When Daryn started having visions, no one believed her.  But she knew she could make a difference and save lives.  Until she lost Sebastian.  Since accidentally sealing Bas into another realm with a demon, Daryn has lost her visions.  She knows that Bas is alive and waiting for them to save him, but she’s going into this mission blind.  The other riders are relying on her.  As they begin their journey into a realm where nothing is as it seems, Daryn will face the ultimate test: will she have to become evil to stop evil?

It’s been a while since I read Riders, but I praised its originality at the time. A story about the Four Horsemen? Awesome. This story…not as exciting to me.

I’ll admit, part of the problem was that I didn’t remember the first story all that well. I remembered the big things, but not the nuances of the characters. It just made it so much harder to actually get into the story.

I did think it did some things well. This story jumps in narration between Daryn and Gideon, and it uses it to its advantage well. There are times it really heightens the suspense and other times when it’s used to explain things. Either way, it worked. I also liked seeing the characters put into situations that made them really uncomfortable and seeing how they responded to those challenges. And let me assure you, there are a lot.

I struggled a little with how much fantasy there was in this one. I don’t feel like that was the case with the first one, which was predominantly centered in the “real world”, but gave the characters supernatural powers. This is definitely more of a fantasy, taking place in another realm. And I just wasn’t getting into it.

Truly, I just struggled to get into this one and to stay interested. It’s not poorly written, but it may not have been what I thought it would be.  I think I just wasn’t in the mood for a fantasy right now.  Paranormal, yes.  Fantasy, not really.

Leave a Reply

