A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)

First Lines: The painting was a lie.  A bright, pretty lie, bursting with pale pink blooms and fat beams of sunshine.

I got this for my birthday about a month ago because, duh, I had to own it.  I own the other two books in this series (and reread them from time to time), so it wasn’t a surprise that I thought this one would be the same.

*Potential Series Spoilers Ahead*  Of course, there truly isn’t much I can say anyway without giving the plot away.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, though not because she wanted to.  Stuck, she decides to use this opportunity to spy on Tamlin and gather information about his maneuvers and those of the invading king.  But this means playing a deadly game, one that could cost Feyre dearly.  If she gets caught, it could mean the end of Prythia as they know it.  As war approaches, Feyre will have to decide who to trust among the High Lords, and maybe find some allies in unexpected places.

I’m going to give you the warning that I never received before reading this: this is more or less the end of Feyre’s story.  Apparently there’s still more coming in the world of Prythia, but the crux of Feyre’s story is over.  I didn’t know this, so the end of this book surprised me and I was a tad disappointed that I wouldn’t be reading more from Feyre.

Ok.  One thing I love about Maas’s writing is how clever she is. She can spin and twist things in ways that you never expect but still make so much sense. It’s brilliant and engaging in so many ways. And she has a wonderful way of writing about relationships between characters, and their emotions.

That said, this one felt different in a few ways. Since it’s really the first book where Feyre is settled emotionally, I didn’t feel things as strongly with this book as much as I did the others. (Though, as one other reviewer said, I definitely stayed for Nessian.) I actually had trouble staying with the story in the beginning because I wasn’t connecting with Feyre the way I expected to. Not that I was going to put it down, but it just felt different from the previous two books.

But the action was great, the plot was superb, and the conflict was definitely worth it. So much backstabbing and two-timing, to the point where you don’t even know who to trust. I liked that.

I wasn’t expecting this to be any sort of ending, and I’m a little disappointed by that, as I said.  I was expecting another huge cliffhanger, the likes of which we saw at the end of the previous book, but there wasn’t.  And so here I was reading along, all the while noticing that this felt like an ending but hoping otherwise.  And when I got to the end, it just didn’t feel as satisfactory since I thought there’d be more.  True, there are still loose ends that will probably be worked into whatever future books there are, but I didn’t want it to be over.  Ugh.

Still, this was another excellent book in this series and I’m always looking forward to what Maas puts out next.

Leave a Reply

