Top Ten Tuesday: Books Recently Added To My To-Read List

Hey guys!  This is really my last week of freedom before I have to go back to school (noooooooooo) so I thought I’d take advantage of it and write about books.  I don’t do that enough, right?  Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to look at some of the books I’ve recently added to my to-read list and why.  Maybe you’ll find something new there too!

toptentuesdayBooks I’ve Recently Added To My To-Read List

  1. How to Disappear by Sharon Huss Roat

    I absolutely loved Roat’s debut novel Between the Notes, so I’m interested to see what this one does.  Vicki creates a perfect life online, only to discover that there are others like her, who feel alone and hopeless.  I have this as an ARC, so hopefully I can read it soon!

  2. Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally

    Seriously, who doesn’t like Kenneally?  I just need to keep plugging away at this series.

  3. Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali

    I have this from the library!  I just need to read it.  I’m not entirely sure what it’s about, but it had a diverse main character (she’s Muslim) and there’s something about monsters (figuratively, I believe).  Guess we’ll see!

  4. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

    A story of two people whose timing is off, this feels a bit like Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.  It involves two people working at a bookstore, notes, and a little bit of a tragic backstory.  I’m interested to see how this plays out.

  5. Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

    I only added this one after much deliberation because I’m very very afraid of how this relationship between Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler is going to be portrayed.  I’m interested…but hesitant.

  6. Speak Easy, Speak Love by McKelle George

    I actually have this as an ARC and I think I’ll be reading it in the next week or so.  It’s a retelling of Much Ado About Nothing (which I love anyway), but it’s set in the 1920s with Prohibition and all that fun stuff.  I’m totally game.

  7. Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

    This one feels like a cool fantasy novel.  Basically, there are a bunch of illegitimate children who feel left out by their parents and they befriend each other and, I think, try to stop a rebellion since they’ve become targets.  Sounds full of action and probably some interesting characters.

  8. Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist

    Now this looks cool and pretty funny while being deep.  Briefly: Will has always been blind and that doesn’t make high school easy, so he’s just happy when he’s made some friends.  Then he learns he qualifies for a surgery to give him sight, only he then finds out that the seeing world has been keeping secrets from him and his friends haven’t exactly been honest about a few things.  It looks funny and I’m truly interested in the insights he’s going to come away with.

  9. Every Little Thing by Jill Hathaway

    This book goes way dark side, far darker than I usually go.  Briefly: Lil is suicidal and self-destructive, but that changes when, after writing a suicide note and wrecking her car, she learns in the hospital that she killed someone.  Lil, depressed, says she did it on purpose and goes on trial for murder. But this is also supposed to be uplifting (somehow), and I’m interested in seeing how that plays out.

  10. The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren

    This feels a lot like a Sarah Dessen/Morgan Matson story.  Briefly: Lucy and Ben are secretly crushing on each other, and just as they’re about to spill the beans, Ben’s sister drowns.  A year later, Lucy and Ben reconnect near the anniversary of the drowning and they have to decide if they can move past it.  It’s heartbreaking (which I’m always drawn to), but I think it will also be uplifting and cute.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Recently Added To My To-Read List

Leave a Reply

